Sign in to follow this  
JusticeKing7

How to protect yourself from hackers and security breaches as a noob?

I've been in this forum for a long time, and apparently since 2011. Although I was inactive for the majority of that time, I'm familliar with bot and connection issues caused by DDoS attacks in the warcraft 3 community. Even then, I wasn't entirely accurate on what is the extent of the abilities of those behind these attacks. And I suppose my wall of text would be somewhat beyond the scope and normal concerns of this forum.

Anyway, I'm a computer security noob. I never had a non-pirated copy of anti-virus softwares and I don't claim to be an expert on the subject and my deterrent consist of not clicking suspicious links or downloading suspicious torrents. So about my concern..

Recently, about 3 months or so, I suspect that someone near my vicinity and within my country (since it seem unlikely to be from outside to bother with me at all) have been sabotaging my internet connection and account privacy. I came back to this forum due to it the only familliar medium which I could ask for help regarding computer security issues.

I haven't been entirely sure about the existence of this anomaly in my systems for 2~3 months or so, and I admit to myself that I might be a little paranoid. The thought occured to me from time to time and from time to time I would see some form of evidence supporting my suspicion.

Anyway, I'll try to enumerate these activities that I found suspicious.