Sign in to follow this  
Ser_Fergus

External GPU Suggestions?

Was given fallout 4 over the weekend. My laptop hits all the specs except for a graphics card. Anyone have any experience using one, and have any suggestions?

Was given fallout 4 over the weekend. My laptop hits all the specs except for a graphics card. Anyone have any experience using one, and have any suggestions?

I have plenty of experience using a graphics card. Every time I start Dota 2 or Civ 4 (yes 4, not 5) I use my graphics card. Once I had an old graphics card, and after getting into an argument with my little brother, I threw it at him. It hit him in the face, not hard, but fairly embarrassing. Anyways. Hopefully this helps. As for suggestions, you should talk to someone who knows what the fuck they're talking about. Personally I'm not sure what I'm doing in this thread.

First question: Do you want a Laptop to simply run Fallout 4 or do you want full glorious experience?

Second question: What are your specs?

Third question: Budget?

edit: btw, eGPUs are very very expensive and making one for your own takes a lot of time and know how.

Why not buy desktop?

No space in my apartment. Seedy neighbourhood. Good chance it would be spotted from the window. All in all, too much money to risk.

First question: Do you want a Laptop to simply run Fallout 4 or do you want full glorious experience?

Second question: What are your specs?

Third question: Budget?

edit: btw, eGPUs are very very expensive and making one for your own takes a lot of time and know how.

Just run it, I have no issue with low settings.

Currently?

12 GB RAM (Potential for 16, but FO4 doesn't need that much even for high, and those ram chips get outdated so quickly)

I5 3.2 GHZ processor

1 Tb Free hard drive space

NVidia integrated graphics (This is the bottleneck: 100 mb of Vram)

No space in my apartment. Seedy neighbourhood. Good chance it would be spotted from the window. All in all, too much money to risk.